James and Joe cycle LeJog

A 1146 mile cycle ride from Land's End to John o' Groats

Something to change into

Two years ago, Joe and I cycled up to York. 240 miles in four days.

It was the first ‘cycle tour’ that Joe had attempted and I’d decided that in order for him to enjoy it, we’d travel light. I didn’t want it to be a long slog with his bike weighed down by heavy panniers. In fact, I carried all our luggage. When I say ‘all’, I mean that I carried everything in my small saddlebag. And when I say ‘everything’ I mean practically nothing.

Every evening when we reached our B&B, we changed out of our dirty, and often wet, cycling clothes, showered and changed into our ‘change’. The problem was that all we had to change into was one t-shirt and one pair of boxers (each). No spare socks, trousers or shoes. That meant that each evening we were marooned in our room, not able to venture out. No pub meals. No strolling around the local area. No nothing.

This time, we’ve learnt our lesson. Each of us will take an ‘evening outfit’. But what to take? I will not resort those lightweight trousers with legs that unzip. No way. I need to decide though and soon.

What I have decided on is my new Camper Peu canvas shoes. Light and stylish. Stylish? Well maybe not stylish, but certainly light. Well, quite light. Not as light as I’d imagined they’d be, but …

20120626-205042.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2012 by and tagged .

Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
