James and Joe cycle LeJog

A 1146 mile cycle ride from Land's End to John o' Groats

Our route

We’ve got twenty days to complete our cycle ride, so we’ll be meandering up the length of the British Isles along quiet country lanes, travelling about 50 miles per day. No heads down, 100 mile days on busy A roads. No thanks. Hopefully we’ll have time to stop and have an ice-cream or three, feed ducks, chat to locals and have a generally nice time.

After much thought, we’ve planned a route based on Phil Horsley’s Land’s End to John O’Groats – The Great British Adventure. Sellotaping two cheap road atlases together, I painstakingly drew out the route, cut them down to A5 and laminated them back to back. In true old man style, I’ll be clipping them to my handlebars with a big bulldog clip.

Image

GPS? Well, I have my iphone if we get lost.

And here’s a simplified map of the route. Click to enlarge.

Image

Give us a wave if you see us.

4 comments on “Our route

  1. John Haslam
    June 25, 2012

    I think it’s great that you both are going on this intrepid adventure, will keep my out
    when you get into the North West terror- try!

    Good luck to you both and bring me some clotted cream.

    Don’t forget your pump. Bicycle pump!

  2. John Haslam
    June 25, 2012

    will keep my EYE out!!

  3. steve webb
    July 2, 2012

    It’s so encouraging seeing you both doing this ,with myself and my boys doing it the other way round (John O’Groats to Lands End}.Hope you both have an amazing adventure. and I like your old school attitude to it all, great stuff..All the best Steve..{from ctc forum)

  4. Andy
    July 10, 2012

    Evening guys
    watched your progress through Cornwall great to see !!!!
    Noted your interesring choice of digs last night, any more glamourous overnight premises as you pass through Devon and Dorset for me to look out for?
    Speak to you later
    Andy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2012 by and tagged , .

Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
